Skip Navigation LinksSri Salike > District > Batticaloa District


Batticaloa District

Batticaloa district is one of the 25 administrative districts of Sri Lanka. The district is administered by a District Secretariat headed by a District Secretary (previously known as a Government Agent) appointed by the central government of Sri Lanka. The headquarters is located in Batticaloa town. Ampara district was carved out of the southern part of Batticaloa district in 1958.

  Province Eastern
  Total Area 2,854 km2
  Total Population 486,447
  Density 186 /km2
Ethnicity Population % Of Total
Sinhalese - -
Sri Lankan Tamils - -
Sri Lankan Moors - -
Indian Tamils - -
Other (including Burgher, Malay) - - %
Total - 100.0%

Important Places



Light House

National parks