Skip Navigation LinksSri Salike > District > Mannar District


Mannar District

Mannar district is one of the 25 administrative districts of Sri Lanka. The district is administered by a District Secretariat headed by a District Secretary (previously known as a Government Agent) appointed by the central government of Sri Lanka. The headquarters is located in Mannar town. Parts of the district were transferred to newly created Mullaitivu district in September 1978.

  Province Northern
  Total Area 1,996 km2
  Total Population 151,577
  Density 81/km2
Ethnicity Population % Of Total
Sinhalese - -
Sri Lankan Tamils - -
Sri Lankan Moors - -
Indian Tamils - -
Other (including Burgher, Malay) - -
Total - -

Important Places

Light House