Skip Navigation LinksSri Salike > District > Mulathive District


Mulathivu District

Mullaitivu district is one of the 25 administrative districts of Sri Lanka. The district is administered by a District Secretariat headed by a District Secretary (previously known as a Government Agent) appointed by the central government of Sri Lanka. The headquarters is located in Mullaitivu town. The district was carved out of the northern part of Vavuniya district together with parts of the then Jaffna district (now Kilinochchi district), Mannar district and Trincomalee district in September 1978.

  Province Nothern
  Total Area 2,617 km2
  Total Population 121,667
  Density 50/km2
Ethnicity Population % Of Total
Sinhalese - -
Sri Lankan Tamils - -
Sri Lankan Moors - -
Indian Tamils - -
Other (including Burgher, Malay) - -
Total 121,667 100.0%

Important Places


Light House