Skip Navigation Links


Abhayagiri Monastery

  Province North Central
  District Anuradhapura
  Nearest Town Anuradhapura
  Period 1st Century B.C.-11 century A.D.


Abhayagiri monastery extends over an area of 200 ha. It is the second oldest of the Great monasteries in Anuraghapura. All essential features of the Buddhist monastic institution are stupa, Bodhi – Tree Shrine, chapter house padhanaghara (meditation centers) and monastic colleges cum residential complexes, wells ponds and steam baths are visible here. The monastery comprised of four main faculties (Mulas), namely, Uttara Mula, Vahadu Mula, Kapara Mula and Mahanethpa Mula.